Kitchen experiment: cheese

So I was cleaning out my fridge and had some cauliflower and Daiya cheese that needed using up. So I thought I’d try my hand at cauliflower cheese. I did not like the cheese just melted on pasta, but I was going to try it in different recipes until it was gone.
20120202-231601.jpg
I roasted my cauliflower in the oven. And on to the experiment. Cheese-type sauce. I figured I would take my knowledge of a standard cheese sauce and just change the ingredients for their vegan and gluten-free counterparts. Add in a few tricks I have read hear and there and I have come up with a fairly successful vegan cheese sauce. I just don’t like the taste of the flour I chose but I am still learning. I will try other flours and please share your suggestions.

Vegan cheese sauce
2 tbsp gf flour (I don’t suggest potato starch)
2 tbsp vegan margarine (I used becel vegan)
1 cup Daiya vegan cheddar style shreds
At least 1 cup plain soy (or other plant) milk (added as needed)
1 tsp to 1 tbsp powdered mustard
2 tbsp nutritional yeast
S&P to taste

Please note measures are approximate. Taste taste taste.

Make a roux with margarine and flour. (melt the margarine and slowly add the flour to form a paste) Cook only a couple minutes. You do not want to brown it.

Add 3/4c milk and warm, but do not bring to the boil. Add the Daiya cheese. Stir to melt. Add nutritional yeast and spices. Continue to warm. Add more milk as it continues to thicken to get the thickness you desire.
20120202-231853.jpg
I didn’t find this as cheesy as I was used to and I didn’t like the aftertaste of the potato starch (it improved somewhat with cooking). But I do think it is a great first try.

20120202-231922.jpg
Cauliflower cheese with hemp

Leave a Reply

