Cabbage Rolls

In honor of St. Patrick’s day, I am posting my cabbage rolls recipe.

20120315-104823.jpg

Unfortunately, as with most things, my recipe is only a guide. I don’t know exactly how much of each of the filling ingredients I used. I don’t think it should be a problem, as there is a recipe for the sauce. 🙂

I will also admit that these were not made for St. Patty’s day. I am just posting them because I was inspired by
The Vegan Version to post mine as well.

I started with a recipe from Not Your Parents Granola and made a couple additions, since I had leftover quinoa and black beans in the fridge. I have to say, these are superhero cabbage rolls! The first I’ve had or made in 19 years, I might add (since I became a vegetarian).

Without further ado.

Super Cabbage Rolls
(gluten-free, vegan)

20120315-105839.jpg

Sauce Ingredients
1 tsp olive oil
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 onion, diced
1 can crushed tomatoes (or use diced and puree them a bit with an immersion blender)
¼ cup tomato paste
½ cup veggie broth
1 tsp brown sugar
¼ tsp thyme
1 tsp vegan Worcestershire sauce (I used homemade)
1-1 ½ cup cooked brown lentils
1-1 ½ cups cooked wild rice
1 cup cooked quinoa
3/4 cup cooked black beans
1 medium head green cabbage, frozen and thawed

  1. Cook the lentils, rice, quinoa and beans (that is why this is a great leftovers recipe). At the same time, start the sauce.
  2. In a pot large enough to hold all the tomatoes and stock, sauté the onions and garlic in the oil on medium heat, until the onions are translucent and fragrant. Do not burn the garlic.
  3. Add crushed tomatoes, tomato paste, broth, Worcestershire sauce, brown sugar and thyme
  4. Reduce heat to low or med-low if you can keep an eye on it and stir. Cook down until reduced a bit and flavours mingle (while you prep the cabbage).
  5. I used the cooked cabbage method, as I wanted cabbage rolls *now*, not in 3 days, but if you don’t want to boil the cabbage, check the original recipe. I cored the cabbage deeply and put into a large pot of boiling water. Peel the outer leaves as they loosen. I used a spoon to help. Keep going until you get as many as you need and you are left with the small middle pieces. (I cut these up and made cabbage roll casserole).
  6. Next I ran a knife over the thick vein in the leaf until it is basically flat and becomes pliable as the rest of the cabbage leaf.
  7. Mix the beans, rice, quinoa and lentils with the sauce, reserving a quarter to third for serving.
  8. Stuff the rolls with two tablespoons (not measured just scoops with cutlery really) of filling and roll up, tucking in the sides. Serve with reserved sauce. (I did not bake mine after filling as I wanted my cabbage somewhat crunchy. You can see the original recipe for baking instructions).

If you had to cook all those filling items at once, I can see how it would be quite tedious, but I had leftovers of quinoa and beans in the fridge and just cooked the rice and lentils. It actually came together pretty quickly. If you are the type to cook a batch of each of these things for the week, it would be super easy (especially if you plan ahead and do the freezing of the cabbage). I like having all these great nutritional (and tasty) ingredients, but feel free to use only one grain and legume. In fact put whatever grain and legume you have handy. I’m sure it will be great!

Leave a Reply

