Lemon ginger quinoa and kale

They say necessity is the mother of invention. This couldn’t be more true when it comes to recipes. You see, half way through the week I inevitably end up staring in my fridge or at my list of foods bought and made that week, with the sudden need to use up one or more things in the fridge.

Now, I am the type of girl who likes recipes. I love looking through cookbooks and blogs, and I have accumulated thousands of recipes, probably more than I could ever try, already in my short life and time as a cook. But when it comes to using up the things in my fridge I usually can’t go searching through my recipes for something that goes with what I am trying to use up. I love that the Whole Foods App has an “on hand” search for ingredients and I wish (and imagine) that some day I could search my own recipes that way. Lofty ambitions!

I never trusted myself to create good flavours and thus I was a “recipe-person” but after adapting many recipes, I have now trusted myself to make this recipe, though it is hardly innovative. And so..,

20120422-215129.jpg
Please forgive the terrible photo!
Lemon-ginger quinoa and kale

By AmethystJean @The Newest You (Now Friendly Vegan on The Run)

1 cup cooked quinoa (should be about 1/2 cup dry)
1/2 head kale, chopped, stems removed
1/2 red pepper, chopped
1/4 onion, diced
1 tsp lemon juice
1/2 tsp thyme
Salt and pepper to taste
1/8-1/4 tsp ginger to your taste (note, I’m using chopped ginger from the fridge, not powder)

Sautée onion and red pepper.

If using leftover quinoa add water to the pan so it doesn’t stick and add the quinoa and then kale. Cover and allow quinoa to warm and kale wilt.

If using newly cooked quinoa, start cooking at the beginning of making the recipe and it will be ready at the end. Add the kale to the onions and peppers without water, and add quinoa after cooking finishes.

Season with lemon juice and spices.

In addition to providing seasoning, the lemon also helps free up other vitamins in the kale. Bonus!

20120422-215011.jpg

Leave a Reply

