Protein mocha frappuccino

20120505-123235.jpg

So far I have tested Genuine Health Vegan Protein+ (double chocolate) in protein pancakes and a Choconana smoothie. So far I have been unhappy, though I wonder if there is such a thing as a good protein powder. Can anything really cover up the taste? Do Any of them actually taste good?

The following has become my standby recipe (though I should really be testing more!). It’s not delicious, but so far it’s the flavour I can tolerate (and I do still pound it back as quickly as possible). Rest assured, I will keep on testing! Up next, a protein bar or ball depending on my mood and ingredients.

20120505-123235.jpg
Mocha protein shake20120505-123235.jpg

2-3 tsp instant coffee
1 cup water
1 scoop vegan protein+ double chocolate
Ice
Optional: sweeten with sugar, chocolate or caramel syrup
Optional: milk of choice (I like it straight up or soy for the extra protein)

Make strong coffee with the coffee and water (boiled). Pour over ice to cool. Alternately, make a big batch and keep in the fridge (it will be stronger without the ice to water it down)

20120505-123326.jpg
Add protein powder and ice, if desired. I have been making mine more like iced coffee than a frap, that is, just enough ice to cool it down, about 2 or 3 ice cubes.

Add desired extras including milk and chocolate or caramel syrup, sugar or cocoa.

20120505-123416.jpg

Blend a minute, until smooth.

20120505-123807.jpg

As I said, I’ve been making them like iced coffee, so I can power them back. Read: drink quickly before I taste it. (not a ringing endorsement, I know, but this has been my go-to, so I guess that’s something.)

This is the best I have made so far, but I still taste the protein powder above anything and everything else, not good if you don’t like the taste of the protein. I have just found that nothing covers it up. Ah well, at least I am getting 20 g of protein.

Stay tuned for choco-berry smoothie and bites or bars.

Leave a Reply

