Protein cookie bars

20120521-175915.jpg 

Finally a use for this protein powder that I like.

I have been testing Genuine Health Vegan Proteins+ in double chocolate so far it has only been shakes and i have been somewhat unhappy i think if i had a bigger blender and could double the ingredients to the scoop of protein powder, it might cover up the taste better, but alas, i am using a single cup blender like the magic bullet.

Genuine Health contacted me on twitter and suggested I try a protein bar recipe and I finally have. I have called them protein cookie bars because they are more like a cookie with extra protein that a true protein bar. They have only 6g of protein per square. Still, that is impressive for a snack, and I’ll choose a shake with an entire scoop of protein if I want the 20g. And they do work to satisfy night snacking, so I’d call that a success!

20120521-180125.jpg

I have finally found a use for this protein powder that I like, with one caveat: without sugar, it needs a piece of fruit or chocolate in every bite, or it is not as good.

I used chocolate chips in the bars instead of melting chocolate on top, and I really liked it. The combo of dried cranberry and chocolate chips is always a winner for me.

Other than that, I made no changes to the recipe. I used whole flax and a bit of ground, since it wasn’t specified. I highly recommend you give these treats a try.

Please follow the link to the recipe. I did not change it except adding chocolate chips, so all credit belongs to the original source

<!–
Ingredients Dry:
2 cups of rolled oats (I like to use a cup of thick oats and a cup of thinner oats)
2 servings of Genuine Health’s Vegan Proteins Plus, Double Chocolate (I usually only use half a serving in my daily diet, so make this recipe according to how much protein you feel is suitable for your daily diet)
1 cup of dried cranberries (any dried fruit works)
1/2 cup of shredded coconut (sweetened or unsweetened)
1/2 cup of flax seeds
Wet:
2 bananas
1/2 cup of juice or coconut milk

Recipe
Set the oven to 350`F. Use coconut oil (has more saturated fats, but any vegan oil/butter would work) to grease a baking pan (mine was 6×10, but vary the pan size depending on the thickness you want the bar).

In one bowl mash up the two bananas until there are no chunks. In another bowl combine the oats and protein powder. Add the banana into the dry ingredients mixture. Try to equally distribute the banana across the dry mixture (you will know because the protein powder will become darker). Once this core mixture is at a good consistency, add the other dry ingredients, and poor in juice or coconut milk to keep the mixture sticky.

Spread the mixture into the pan. I put vegan dark chocolate or sweetened coconut on top to add a little sweetness. Bake for 15 minutes!

Make sure to let the bars cool before you cut them (into squares or the more common rectangle form). I also keep the bars refrigerated, because I think they taste better. Enjoy!–>

Leave a Reply

