Peanut butter cookies

20120929-143953.jpg
I had a craving for peanut butter cookies this morning. I already knew how to make them gluten-free. (Pb+eggs+sugar=cookies), but not vegan. I don’t even have eggs in the house if I wanted to use them (which I don’t). So I went on a search. Well, I didn’t search far. I tried the second one I landed upon, with a few modifications.

I don’t have white sugar, so I used turbinado. This created a crunchy molasses-y cookie. Not terrible, but not what I wanted. Strike one.

I did not have whole wheat pastry flour. I did have white, but then decided to make it gluten-free. Without giving any thought to my choice of flours I used 2/3 oat flour and 1/3 almond, which created a cookie that was reminiscent of an oatmeal peanut butter chocolate chip. Again, not bad, but not what I wanted. Strike two.

And they were too sweet. (recipe as written). It is no-one’s mistake but a difference in preference from the original.

I added a bit of xanthan gum, as I was not using a gf flour mix with it. Not sure that helped hold anything together. I did not rest the dough for the entire hour either. This may be why they were a bit crumbly (as in fall-apart-ish, but not dry. In fact greasy or wet on the bottom).

Despite all the fumbles, I would not call these a failure, they just missed the mark.

Here is what I did (and will do next time)
Be sure to check out Katie’s original!

20120929-143637.jpg

Peanut Butter Cookies

1/4 cup turbinado sugar (use white or some other alternative (xylitol?) and less)
1/8 cup brown sugar
3/4 tsp baking powder
1/8 tsp xanthan gum (try chia gel? or powdered egg replacer)
2 Tbsp oat flour (leave out)
1 Tbsp almond flour (try 3 Tbsp all purpose gf flour for both)
Pinch salt
1/2 cup natural pb
1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
2 Tbsp apple sauce
Optional: chocolate chips (did not measure. A handful)

Whisk together well dry ingedients. Mix in wet ingredients. Form in balls and press with a fork. Chill 1 hour. Bake 8 (10) min at 350oF

20120929-142433.jpg

20120929-142453.jpg

20120929-142505.jpg

20120929-142638.jpg

Leave a Reply

