Goddess Bowl

I could seriously eat this every day.
20130131-194332.jpg

I fell in love with this dish and the restaurant that makes it (so positive! And everything vegan and gluten-free). I knew right away that I would have to recreate it.

Please forgive the confusing nature of this recipe. I have put the entire dish and overview at the beginning with the recipes required to make it after. I hope this is easy enough to follow.

goddess bowl

Goddess Bowl
Serves 4

1 recipe orange ginger tofu (below)
1 recipe lime cashew cream sauce (below)
1 bunch kale
Squeeze of lemon
Sprinkle of coarse salt
Splash of olive oil (I never measure. These are for the kale)
2 carrots, julienned
1+ beets, julienned
Sprinkle of sesame seeds
1/2 c uncooked quinoa cooked per directions

  1. prepare the tofu the night or morning before
  2. cook the quinoa (when you’re ready to eat (I like this and the tofu hot with the cold salad. You can eat it all cold.)
  3. cook the tofu
  4. prepare the cashew cream
  5. massage the kale
  6. assemble the dish

Massage the kale: With your hands rub the kale with the oil, lemon, and salt. This will break down the cellular walls and make it liked cooked and also take away the bitterness. I like my raw kale so I don’t take it to that wilty like-cooked state. You will see the kale change, good.

Assembling: Serve 1/4 each tofu, quinoa, kale, cashew cream. Top with carrots and beets. Sprinkle with sesame seeds.

Orange ginger tofu

1 pkg firm tofu, pressed
Juice and zest of 2 oranges
1 inch piece of ginger grated (1/8-1/2 tsp jarred, to taste)
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tbsp sesame oil (I usually skip)
Hot sauce to taste
Edit ***pretty sure I put tamari in here too. Maybe 1 tsp***

  1. Drain and press the tofu (drier means more marinade will soak up. Don’t rush this
  2. Make the marinade. Combine remaining ingredients.
  3. Let marinade at least morning till dinner.
  4. Dry fry in a non-stick pan until golden and carmelized on all sides.

While the tofu is cooking make the cashew sauce.

Cashew cream sauce (lime-ginger)

1/2 c cashews soaked (I only soak from the time I start cooking quinoa and tofu. They are soft. They don’t need all day)
1 tsp or more lime juice (use this if bottled, more if fresh)
1 tsp tamari (or soy sauce if gluten is not a problem)
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/8 tsp fresh ginger, grated
Water as needed to reach desired consistency

Blend all together in a blender.

Notes:

  • I forgot the sesame seeds as you can see in the picture
  • This time the beet I used is so large I didn’t even use it all. I normally use one. If you love beets, use more. If you don’t love them, still use one small. I don’t like beets but I love them in this dish!
  • the cashew cream makes this. I forgot it once. It was not the same. Do not forget this.
Leave a Reply

