Curried Coleslaw Three Ways

20130420-170845.jpg

I wanted to make coleslaw with my final quarter of a cabbage (wow $2 goes a long way! I made cabbage rolls, hot and sour cabbage soup, added some to a mixed salad and finally this…) Not only am I going to give you a money saving recipe, I am going to give you three variations.

The first variation is the one I made. I was in the middle of a Tone It Up 7 day slim down to detox so I couldn’t have the creamy and sweet version I’ve known all my life which contains mayo and brown sugar (among other things). I decided on curry.

I also didn’t use oil since it was the slimdown but feel free to add that and make more of a vinagrette, if you are not on this plan.

Version 1 : Lemony Curry Coleslaw

1/4 head of cabbage, chopped or grated
1 carrot julienned or grated
1/2 onion sliced

2 tbsp lemon juice
1/4 tsp turmeric
1/4 tsp curry
1/4 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp coriander
1/4 tsp cinnamon
feel free to add salt and pepper to taste
1 tbsp oil if not on slim down

Combine the veggies in a large bowl. Combine the remaining dressing ingredients in a small bowl and whisk together with a fork.

I did not toss my salad with the dressing but rather drizzled it lightly as I wanted to taste the cabbage and not just curry flavour. Shake before serving (if you are not serving it all at once).

This is appropriate for the slim down and all phases of the tone it up plan and makes a great part of M3 or M5

20130420-170839.jpg

As I ate this for my meal 3 with humms and celery to round out the meal, provide a bit of protein and give me a break from the curry, I was inspired to make version 2. I also ate it frequently with lemon kale. Very good. Try this too.

Version 2 : Creamy Curry Coleslaw

As above, but double the dressing ingredients above and add 3-4 Tbsp tahini or hummus mixed with water to thin it out (choose homemade to minimize salt and additives and make it salt and oil free)

I recommend salt free and oil free hummus to make this suitable for every day in the toning plan (and actually slim down worthy – just not every day I would think).

20130420-170834.jpg

Version 3 : All out Creamy Coleslaw

As above but feel free to use full fat hummus if desired and add the salt. Add in coconut milk instead of water to thin out the hummus. Add sunflower seeds or chopped peanuts. I think flax seeds would also be awesome.

This is suitable for the maintenance phase of the TIU plan or a treat if your are in the toning phase

2 thoughts on “Curried Coleslaw Three Ways

  1. Who’d ever think that one Sunday night in the future I’d be salivating over the thought of cabbage. But it’s true! Am always on slim down, though and love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

