Gluten free vegan brownies

image

Gluten-Free Vegan brownies!

browniesExcuse the terrible photo! I hope you can tell, like I did just pulling these out of the oven, that these were a hit!

Second try is a charm! The first time I attempted these brownies they were a mess. I almost wish I had taken a picture because now looking back, it was pretty funny. (Don’t forget a tbsp or 2 of starch when baking with aquafaba!)

I was working on adapting this recipe. I was hopeful for this recipe for two reasons. First, it is pretty simple. Second, I needed a way to use up the flour that I had and I haven’t liked it in things where you want a neutral taste, but I thought the chocolate would be the perfect cover up (and it is!). Perhaps if you like thing with a heavy whole wheat kind of taste you might like this flour in things like bread or biscuits, but for me it’s a pass. The ingredient that must be causing this is the beet fibre.

Anyway…brownies! (Here’s a new photo! )

image

I made a few changes to the original recipe, swapping out the butter and eggs; adding walnuts and starch and reducing the sugar. Since I have this many changes, I think it fair that I reproduce my new recipe here.

image

Gluten-free, vegan brownies, with aquafaba and Robin Hood flour.

Makes 16

1/4 c. oil (I used light olive oil)
115 g dark chocolate
1/2 c. aquafaba* (I used chickpea)
1/2 c. sugar
1/2 c. Robin Hood Gluten free flour
1/4 c. cocoa powder
1/4 tsp xanthan gum
1/4 tsp salt
1 tbsp arrowroot starch (you could sub other starch)
1/4 cup walnuts
1/4 cup chocolate chips

Preheat oven 350oF
Melt chocolate and oil over stove. You can microwave chocoalte as well. Carefully stir in oil so as to not break the mixture.
Whisk aquafaba (AF) and sugar. Add chocolate mixture.
Combine dry ingredients except walnut and chcocolate chips
Combine wet and dry ingredients, stir in walnut and chocolate chips.
Spread in greased 8″ square pan
Bake 15-20 minutes until top is set.

*Aquafaba? What’s that?
Aquafaba is the water from a can of beans, often chickpea. You can also use cooking liquid. It replaces the eggs. See more at http://www.aquafaba.com/
And check out what all my fellow bloggers are saying https://wordpress.com/tag/aquafaba/
Find the facebook group https://www.facebook.com/groups/VeganMeringue

Edit: Did not have the flour I used before so I used 1/2 brown rice flour and 1/2 garfava. It worked fine. It was a little under done I’m the middle but that may just be my own timing issue. Another thing that might help is a little psyllium or flax as the Robin Hood flour has beet fibre. Or just cook it a bit longer and check for doneness

5 thoughts on “Gluten free vegan brownies

Leave a Reply

