Pizza! (gf, vegan)

20130405-110540.jpg

The second thing I made in my kitchen Macguyver day was gluten-free vegan pizza. Here I am, almost eight months later, not only just posting it, but just making it again.

The recipe makes two pizza bases and you can either mix the flours and divide the flour, or pre-bake the second one and freeze it. Just remember, if you cut the flour in half, to cut the liquid in half (but hey, that’s how I learned that it freezes well).

It may seem like a lot of different flours, but that really is the secret to a good tasting gluten free bread.

I adapted this recipe (greatly) from quirky cooking, which uses a Thermomix to grind rice, millet etc. I just used these flours. I also substituted flours that I didn’t have, using this great blog on gluten-free flour densities. It is also how I made it the second time with very similar results, but again making flour substitutions. That, said, it is my belief that if you were to use only 2-3 flours or equal weight and density to the many I used, you will not achieve the same results.

The other changes I made were doubling the seeds and halving the starch. While starch makes light baked goods, I don’t like things to taste like starch. As for the seeds, I love a good seedy bread.

Amanda’s gluten-free vegan multigrain pizza base

Preheat oven 425oF
2 Tbsp chia seeds
2 Tbsp warm water

Mix chia seeds with water in a cup, and leave to soak for a few minutes

80 g brown rice flour
90 g white rice flour
70 g sweet rice flour
40 g chickpea flour
45 g quinoa flour
10 g teff flour
10 g buckwheat flour
15 g sorghum flour
70 g tapioca flour

Measure all flours then mix all flours together with a whisk. You can split it here if you wish to save one crust for later, just make sure you have mixed it well, label it well with what is left to be added (half amounts)

2 tsp dry yeast
1 tsp sea salt

Whisk in yeast and salt

40 g mixed seeds (sunflower, flax, millet, pumpkinā€¦)

Stir in seeds
380 g warm water
1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
60 g olive oil
soaked chia seeds& water

Mix wet ingredients and add.

Add toppings of choice and bake. I did mine 10 minutes with dry ingredients (onions, garlic, sundried tomato), (or prebake 10 min) then 12-15 minutes after adding wet ingredients and sauce.

You can prebake and freeze the crust after 10 minute bake. Then top and bake 15-20 min.

You can easily adapt this to suit what you have on hand.

This second time around I used:
80 g brown rice flour
63 g white rice flour
70 g sweet rice flour
40 g chickpea flour
45 g quinoa flour
18 g teff flour
10 g buckwheat flour
25 g sorghum flour
30 g arrowroot flour/starch
60 g tapioca starch
2 tbsp hemp
1 tbsp whole flax
1/2 tbsp ground flax
1 tbsp each sunflower and pumpkin seeds
1 cup water
1/2 tbsp vinegar
And I forgot the salt and oil. Still good!

As I share the last of the pizza with a coworker I realize, oops, I didn’t take a picture. (Edited to add pictures finally!)

P.s. don’t ask me these measurements in volume. I have never measured that way. The results would always vary. This way however, you can vary the recipe with the same results! (My scale was $15. )

Pictures! I topped mine with sauce, red peppers, sun dried tomatoes, olives and onions. I threw on arugula after I took it out of the oven. You could put it in for a minute at the end.
20130405-110553.jpg
The sprinkles are almonds standing in for cheese. The fattiness from them satiates, but don’t expect cheese taste.
20130405-110610.jpg

Leave a Reply

