Better Caesar Salad!

20120321-205002.jpg


Sooo, I put a few days food into sparkpeople to see how I’m doing and I found that I eat half my daily requirement of protein. This was a bit of a surprise to me as my bloodwork has always been stellar. I have never had any problems with my B12 or iron or any other vitamin or mineral, so I thought I was doing fine. I never checked during my eating disorder days, but I have recovered from those effects after 5 years. I will do no further into that topic at the moment except to say it is not related to my veg/anism. (I have commented on this great post)

After finding out what I am eating, I decided to try to get more protein. I also find the thought of eating a lettuce and crouton-only Caesar salad boring and unhealthy. I don’t eat facon bits so that is all I had been eating. In addition to my dressing recipe, I am sharing with you a combo of toppings that you just have to try. I will add, I don’t “like” avocado but I love this.

Caesar Dressing (vegan)
1/2 package (400-500g) silken tofu (or soft or medium)
5 cloves garlic, minced
2 tbsp lemon juice
1 tsp capers, chopped (you can use a garlic press for both these and the garlic)
Pinch of onion powder
2 tbsp nutritional yeast
s&p to taste

Mix all ingredients in a blender (I use an imitation magic bullet). Blend until smooth. Add water if necessary to reach the desired consistency (mostly if using another kind of tofu. I have successfully used medium-firm)

Makes about 6 servings.

Add dressing, croutons, and toppings to your romaine (or I used red leaf when I ran out).

The toppings you just must try? Avocado, pecan and hemp!

(EDIT At the very least pecan and hemp or flax. In fact I no longer feel the need to have croutons.)

 

So tell me, how do you spruce up a vegan Caesar? And how do you get the protein you need? Are you a typical pasta and cheese vegetarian? How do you make the transition?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Better Caesar Salad!

Leave a Reply

