Apple crisp

20130127-213226.jpg
I made my first gluten-free and vegan apple crisp. Not bad for “off the top of my head.”

I found it a little under sweet and ended up making 2 adjustments before the final product, which still has less sugar than usual, I think.

My mom’s consisted of apples, oats, flour, butter, cinnamon and sugar, so I went from there.

20130127-213124.jpg

Amanda’s gf vegan apple crisp

10 small-medium apples, cored and sliced
2 tbsp gluten-free all purpose (gf ap) flour*
2 tbsp brown sugar
1/2 tsp cinnamon

topping
1/2 cup rolled oats
1/2 cup almond flour
2-4 Tbsp brown sugar
2 Tbsp gf ap flour
2 Tbsp coconut oil*
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp maple syrup*
1/2 tsp agave syrup
1/4 cup pecans, chopped (optional)*

1. Preheat oven to 350F.
2. Toss chopped apples in flour, sugar and cinnamon of first part. Place in 9 inch square pan
3. Mix together topping ingredients with fingertips until coconut oil is worked into dry ingredients.
4. Place topping over apples and bake 45-60 min. Watch for burning and bubbling over.

*Notes:

1. I Used Bob’s Red Mill. Use whatever flour you prefer. I like to have a starch in there. This helps thicken the “syrup” created by the apples’ juice. You could use just a starch.

2. Try the pecans, it’s a nice flavour addition and it’s got omega 3s.

3. I chose not to use margarine in the topping. I have found that I don’t like margarine cooked/baked. If you do, go ahead. Coconut oil should be solid (room temperature)

3. I thought almond flour would taste better than all gf ap flour. If you love your gf ap flour, by all means use only it in the topping.

5. The maple and agave syrup came our of discovering that the crumble was not sweet enough. I use the agave to stretch the maple. Feel free to use all maple. (or agave, but maple is really the taste we want) Try putting it right in or drizzle on in the last 5 minutes, like I did. I think the maple flavour is complementary, so keep it and use the lower end of the sugar measurement if you want less sweetness.

6. I used about 3 Tbsp brown sugar in my topping, plus the syrup. But I was just sprinkling with a spoon to taste and not measuring.

7. I’m pretty bad about measuring, in general. All measurements are approximate. I’m pretty good at my visual estimations, if that is any assurance. Trust your instincts and your palate. Let me know if something different worked for you.

20130127-213012.jpg

Leave a Reply

